Need a State Misdemeanor Criminal Defense Attorney? Get Help from Criminal Defense Attorney Jason L. Beckner.

 

Legal Definition of a "Misdemeanor"

California defines a misdemeanor as a crime for which the maximum sentence is no more than one year in county jail.

There are two types of misdemeanor’s you should be aware of:

1.    “Standard” California misdemeanors, punishable by up to 6 months in jail and/or a fine of up to $1,000; and
2.    “Gross” or “aggravated” misdemeanors,” punishable by up to 364 days in jail and/or a fine of up to $1,000 or more.

What is a “wobbler?”

Some offenses can be charged as either a felony or a misdemeanor. Other charges may be charged as a misdemeanor or an infraction. This decision is made by the prosecutor handling your case and it is essential to seek a defense attorney so that they can persuade the prosecutor to make the right choice.

Charged with a misdemeanor in California? Call for help...
To discuss your case confidentially call (760) 685-8428
I offer free consultations by phone or in-person.

Call Now!

Quick Quote